Congrats to Our Blue Streak Scholarship Winners

Congrats to Our Blue Streak Scholarship Winners

We're happy to announce the winners of our inaugural Standard Blue Streak ‘Stronger Than Ever’ Scholarship Competition: Daniel McMahon of Universal Technical Institute Sacramento, CA, and Hayden Anderson of Lake Area Tech in Watertown, SD.

Daniel and Hayden will each receive a $5,000 scholarship to apply toward the pursuit or continuation of their education in automotive technology and repair at a technical school or college.

Students were asked to complete an online questionnaire and submit a current photo of themselves. Entries were evaluated based on relevance, creativity, and thoughtfulness in regards to the automotive industry. Our competition's judge, Ken Elzinga, Master Technician and Owner at Hilltop Auto, determined that Mr. McMahon and Mr. Anderson best exhibited the drive and dedication that is representative of Standard Blue Streak.

Commenting on the announcement, Phil Hutchens, Vice President Engine Management Marketing, SMP, stated, "SMP is proud to recognize up-and-coming technicians, and we believe that Mr. McMahon and Mr. Anderson both possess the qualities that will be required to ensure the future of the automotive aftermarket."

Nearly 400 students who entered this year's competition. For news and updates on our 2018 promotions, subscribe to our mailing list.