Standard Motor Products Awards $50,000 Across Three Scholarship Programs

Standard Motor Products Awards $50,000 Across Three Scholarship Programs

Standard Motor Products, Inc. is pleased to announce our 2021 SMP® Scholarship Program recipients. Ten students were awarded $50,000 to pursue an education in automotive technology or auto repair through three individual scholarship programs.

Nearly a thousand students from around the country competed for the SMP® scholarships. The winners were selected based on their thoughtful and relevant answers to questions regarding the automotive repair industry and their future careers as technicians. Each has been awarded a $5,000 scholarship.

With an emphasis on import automotive technology, the Intermotor® ‘Import Leader’ Scholarship went to Ashley Stamboulian of Robbinsville, NJ, Saige Byram of Evansville, IN, Alexzander Freeman of Lockhart, TX, and Julien Vargas of Lehighton, PA.

The Blue Streak® ‘Better Then, Better Now’ winners this year were Derrick Graham of Medford, OR, Vance Hagarman of Hanover, PA, Deeandra Lucio of Phoenix, AZ and Will Finney of Coeur d’Alene, ID.

The SMP® ‘Women in Auto Care’ Scholarship, which encourages women to pursue careers as automotive technicians, awarded $5,000 scholarships each to Makena Gaylor of Eagle Point, OR and Jennea Katic of Pompano Beach, FL.

In congratulating the winners, John Herc, Vice President of Engine Management Marketing said, "SMP is proud to support our future technicians. To be successful as a leader in the Auto Care industry, we believe it’s important to provide training for current technicians and offer opportunities such as the SMP scholarships, to the next generation of automotive technicians. I can say with confidence that the Auto Care industry is in good hands. Congratulations to the winners and a special thanks all students who participated.”